Peace of Mind is a mission-driven, socially responsible 501(c)(3) organization. We are passionate about providing mindfulness-based social and emotional learning resources to elementary school teachers and students, helping schools become more positive and inclusive places in which children thrive.   Peace of Mind is supported by an active, multi-talented Board of Directors and a dedicated staff.

Peace of Mind arises out of the work of teacher and curriculum author Linda Ryden.  Linda began teaching her “Peace Class” at a public school in Washington DC in 2003, focusing on social and emotional learning and conflict resolution lessons.  Her young students grasped the lessons intellectually; however, when children found themselves in challenging situations on the playground, at recess, or in their classrooms, they were unable to access what they had learned, overtaken by challenging emotions… read more

The Peace of Mind Team

Linda Head Shot
Founder and co-director, Peace Teacher, Curriculum and Children’s Book Author, Board Member
DSC_0056 (1)
Executive Director,  Curriculum Co-Author
Consultant on Early Childhood Programs, Training and Resources

Board of Directors

Screenshot 2019-06-12 13.46.44
Research Scientist (retired)
Jackie Snowden
Assistant Principal (retired), Lafayette Elementary School
Darrel bio pic
Executive Director, Federal Affairs, Johnson & Johnson
Chapin Springer Headshot 3-High Res
Senior Communications Officer, The Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation
Principal, Horace Mann Elementary School

Founder Linda Ryden is also a member of the Board of Directors.


Avideh Larger
Poet and President, Fund for the Future of Our Children
Scientific Program Manager, Adolescent Brain Cognitive Development (ABCD) Study, National Institutes of Health
Screenshot 2019-05-09 10.01.49
Mindful Hip-Hop Artist and Mindfulness Instructor
Coach and Co-Owner, Manifestara
Screenshot 2019-04-18 20.41.19
Non-profit consultant and former President and CEO of the NEA Foundation
Screenshot 2019-04-16 09.21.34
Mindfulness and Cross-Cultural Circle Facilitator and Coach;
Peace Educator and Founder, Walk The Middle Way
Administrative Director, TryghedsGruppen, Copenhagen, Denmark

We couldn’t do it without you…

Tilbury House Publishers: The wonderful publisher of our Peace of Mind Storybook Series “Henry and Friends”, including Henry is Kind, Sergio Sees the Good, and Tyaja uses the Think

Parent Advisory Team: Subrat Biswal, Stefanie Wallach and friends

Media and Communications:  American Univeristy students in Professor Gemma Puglisi’s Public Relations Portfolio Class Fall 2019

Curriculum and Graphic Design:  Jodi Ferrier,  Schwa Design

Website:  Niki Van,  Van-Studios

Fabulous former PoM Interns: Madeleine Sagebiel, Nora Jodrey, Feiras Rahman, Sophie Hoyt, Meredith Donnelly, Eli Blackwell